Cartouche Puzzle Solving with Python

For script writing
ungawa
AFH

Cartouche Puzzle Solving with Python

Post by ungawa » Wed Sep 09, 2015 2:34 pm

As I mentioned in the G-D Cartouche thread, I modified a Phython based Simple Substitution Cryptogram solver I found online to try to start brute forcing the Cartouche puzzle. However, I didn't have much luck with a rough pass through the 10! orderings of the strings, and trying a more in depth pass greatly increases the necessary computing power. I figured I'd share what I have in case anyone else is interested, either in running it to help divide the load, or in looking at the code to see where there's room to improve efficiency. (I'm an engineer, not a computer scientist, so don't judge the code too harshly)

Assumptions:
The 80 known and confirmed cartouches form 10 strings of 10 characters, as theorized by Log from Blammo
Letter frequency analysis of these 10 strings matches plaintext English quite well, so with my limited knowledge it seems that it likely involves a simple substitution cipher as opposed to some other cipher that disguises letter frequency. (http://practicalcryptography.com/cipher ... on-cipher/)
There hasn't been any luck trying to decipher the 10 strings directly, so the ciphertext probably doesn't contain the strings themselves
There are many possible ways to arrange the strings to try to generate the ciphertext. My code focuses on the following possibility:
-The 10 strings are arranged vertically in a 10x10 grid
-The ciphertext is read from the resulting grid, left to right, top to bottom
-Checking all 10! solutions and reading left to right will simultaneously account for all solutions for reading right to left as well.
10 strings arranged as columns. 10! possible orders of the columns, to be read left to right, top to bottom to create cipher text

Code: Select all

V	Q	B	Q	C	T	X	U	U	T
R	V	U	Q	V	I	B	M	V	D
H	A	G	C	V	W	Q	C	G	D
G	Z	V	C	O	Q	M	K	C	D
O	H	I	Q	Q	K	V	V	G	O
B	B	O	K	Q	K	G	Q	I	U