Terrible Customer service experience with greyhound

Like the title says, anything and everything else goes here. As long as it follows the forum rules.

Moderator: Raccoon

jtay
Woodpuzzle

Terrible Customer service experience with greyhound

Post by jtay » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:13 pm

I thought I'd share my customer service experience with Greyhound in the hopes that you would also never use their service again and share your own terrible customer service experiences for me to avoid as well.

So I'm a student in North Carolina and my family lives in Georgia. The trip is about 6 hours by car; however, I just sold my car because it was too old. So I didn't really have any plans to celebrate turkey day with my family this year. Fast forward to last Sunday, and my stepmom calls me and tells me to talk to my dad to get home for Thanksgiving--he would worry about the financials. I look on line and both planes and Amtrak were out of the question. It was over 400 for the former and 250 for the latter round trip. I call my dad and he suggests Greyhound. A roundtrip ticket was only $133, and it was 7 1/2 hours, not too terrible for not having to drive myself. So I go through the website and go through the steps. At one point it tells me that if the cardholder is not the one going on the bus then I have to pay an $18 fee. It's a total scam but I pay with my own credit card. When I get down to the end it declines my credit card. I don't know if I entered my name wrong but I've had this happen for other online orders so I try again. No luck. Call my dad, he pays with his card, declined. At this point I'm pretty sure the website is just not working for some reason. So I call the fare and schedule information number (the customer service number is only 7 through 7 Monday thru Friday). I finally figure out how to speak with someone because one of the first choices, speak with a customer service rep., tells you to just call the customer service number. I explain to the man that I'm t